Implementing SSL certificate

Types of SSL Certificates

  1. Domain Validated (DV) Certificates: The most fundamental kind of SSL certificate is called a DV certificate.
    They check who owns the domain, but they don’t thoroughly investigate the company running the website.
    DV certificates are simple to obtain and offer website data encryption.
    They are appropriate for small business websites, blogs, and personal websites.
  2. Certificates with Organisation Validation (OV):  Compared to DV certificates, OV certificates provide a higher level of validation.
    They entail confirming the legitimacy of the organisation in addition to domain ownership.
    Visitors to websites are more likely to trust OV certificates since they include the name of the verified organisation in the certificate data.
    They are perfect for companies and organisations that wish to advertise their identity while need a higher level of protection.
  3. Extended Validation (EV) Certificates: The highest level of verification and confidence is offered by EV certificates.
    They go through a thorough verification process that includes confirming the organization’s organisational, physical, and legal components.
    In addition to a green padlock or the organization’s name turning green, EV certificates prominently display the organization’s name in the address bar.
    Large businesses, e-commerce sites, and financial institutions frequently employ them because they provide the highest level of assurance.
  4. Wildcard Certificates: Using a single certificate, wildcard certificates protect a domain and all of its subdomains.
    They are given out for the domain *, where * stands for any subdomain.
    Due to the fact that a single certificate can cover several subdomains, wildcard certificates offer cost and management efficiency. They are suitable for websites with numerous subdomains or those planning to add subdomains in the future.
  5. Multi-domain Certificates (also known as Subject Alternative Name – SAN Certificates):  Multiple domains can be secured with a single certificate thanks to multi-domain certificates.
  6. They can safeguard several domain names and subdomains belonging to the same corporation.
  7. Because numerous certificates are combined into one, multi-domain certificates offer flexibility and cost savings.
  8. They are ideal for firms that operate across several websites or sectors.
  9. Validation, functionality, and applications for SSL certificates differ, each having its own set of capabilities. The unique demands of the website, as well as the desired level of security and trust, influence the certificate selection.



1 thought on “Types of SSL Certificates”

  1. Pingback: HTTPS and SEO: Boost Rankings - Website Aid

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Social Media

Most Popular

Get The Latest Updates

Subscribe To Our Weekly Newsletter

No spam, notifications only about new Blog, updates.


On Key

Related Posts

Scroll to Top